Grades

As a parent, I expect my kids to do well in school.  My teen has always been a straight A student, so for her I expect nothing less than a B.  I don’t except anything less because I know that she can do it.  However, my tween is another story.

My tween has a learning disability.  We kept her back a year so that she wouldn’t be 1.5 yrs behind in school.  She has caught up quite nicely since keeping her back.  Now we expect nothing less than a C from her.

When we go her report card for the third term of this school year we were surprised.  Not in a good way either.  Her spelling grade is a 52.  Absolutely not acceptable.  We were furious!  I grounded her from all electronics and social life for the entire 4th term.  No computer, no tablet, no cell phone (except to call her dad and myself all other apps and numbers were blocked).

I was going to be nice and take a week off of her punishment if she found out what she had gotten on the last 2 spelling tests if the grades were really, really good.  That got thrown right out the window when she lied to us about a math packet she had to do.  She told me the other night that she had 1.5 pages left to do in a 14 page packet that she was given for homework.  It was the night of her band concert so I wrote a letter to her teacher asking to keep her in for recess to complete the packet.  I get a phone call from the teacher telling me that she had a week to complete it between homework and class time that was given.  She failed the packet after all that and had a lunch detention that day for antics about when the packet was given and completed.

She says she knows how important school is and getting good grades is.  I’m having a lot of trouble seeing that right now.  I would love to see her get her act together before she falls behind again.  She’s going to have a rude awakening when she gets into the middle school next school year.

Leave a Reply

